Connect with us


10th National Assembly: APC Maintains Majority Seats



By Linda Ike

The rulling party, All Progressives Congress APC has continued to maintain majority seats in the 10th National Assembly.

This was disclosed in the breakdown of results of the just concluded 2023 National Assembly election released by the Independent National Electoral Commission INEC.

The Commission stated that winners have been declared for 423 National Assembly seats while supplementary seats will be conducted in 46 constituencies.

INEC Chairman, Mahmood Yakubu said 98 out 109 Senate seats have been declared while 325 out 360 seats have been declared in the House of Representatives.

He further disclosed that in the Senate, the All progressives congress has 57 seats while the People’s Democratic party controls 28 and Labour party has 6 seats.

Aso, APC dominates in the House of Representatives with 162 seats while the major opposition PDP has 102 and Labour party controls 34 seats.

Yabuku said “In last Saturdays election, winners have been declared for 423 national legislative seats, while supplementary election will be held in 46 constituencies.

“In the Senate, 98 out 106 seats have been declared so far, seven political parties have won senatorial seats while in the house of representatives, 325 out 360 seats have been won by eight political parties”

According to Yakubu, the 10th Assembly is the most diverse National Assembly since the return of democracy in 1999.

He also said that certificates of return will be presented to the senators -elect on Tuesday, March 7, at the National Collation Centre, Abuja, while members of the House of Representatives will receive theirs on Wednesday, March 8.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *