Connect with us


Gbajabiamila re-elected for 6th term



..As Deputy Majority, Minority Whips lose to Labour Party

By Linda Ike

The Speaker of the House of Representatives, Hon. Femi Gbajabiamila, has been re-elected for sixth consecutive term in the just concluded Presidential and National Assembly election.

The official result declared on Sunday by the INEC returning officer, Prof. Virgy Onyene at the Surulere Local Government office of INEC showed that Gbajabiamila polled 19,717 votes and defeated his closest opponent, Bosun Jeje of the People’s Democratic Party (PDP), who scored 5,121 votes.

Gbajabiamila hailed his constituents for giving him the sixth term mandate, and promised he would not disappoint them

“I will continue to work assiduously and bring more developmental projects to Surulere and beyond.

“I am immensely grateful to the people of Surulere for their overwhelming support. I do not take your support for granted.

“As your representative for the past 20 years, I have always protected your interest. I am proud of you as my constituents. I thank our teeming supporters, our Surulere APC leaders, party members, CDAs and residents for their massive support.

“This victory is not mine alone. It is a victory for democracy. Surulere has made history by this sixth mandate given to me, which would definitely spur me to do more for you,” he said.

Also, the House of Representatives Spokesperson, Benjamin Kalu has won the 2023 election for Bende Federal Constituency of Abia state for the second term.

According to the result declared by the INEC returning officer, Adindu Chidinma, the APC candidate polled 10,020
votes to defeat Labour party candidate who scored 6,818 and People’s Democratic party representative who scored 3,930.votes.

On the contrary, the Deputy majority Whip of the House of Representatives, Nkeiruka Onyejeocha has lost her re-election to Labour Party candidate, Amobi Ogar Godwin.

The returning officer for Isuikwuato/Umunneochi Federal constituency of Abia State, Barrister Nneoma Nnochiri declared that Ogar scored the total votes of 11,769 while Onyejeocha scored 8,752 votes.

Similarly, the Deputy Minority Whip of the House of Representatives, Gideon Gwani also lost his election to Donatus Mathew of Labour Party to represent Kaura Federal Constituency of Kaduna State.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *